Testing types

The schema I give you here is unique and believe me - you will use it during all you future QA career
Structure of testing types
Here you can see how test types are grouped and it is super important to use the types during designing your test plan, and answering interview questions
Testing pyramid
Testing pyramid is widely used way to determine if the testing coverage is efficient. It is a common issue having an anti-pattern on the project where we see the 100% rotated pyramid
Testing suites according to delivery phase
Based on SDLC the testing starts from the very beginning of the project - requirements testing. Then QA team runs the regression and moves step by steps to smoke. It is common that QA team names the test suites based on the testing types: regression suite, uat(acceptance) suite, smoke suite
Example of testing types in release iteration
Here is a great example of QA activities for a release iteration. In this specific example where one release takes 2 sprint, 2 weeks each. You can see what QA team does according to iteration's state, before, after deployment
Based on system knowledge
For Black Box you don't need to know the backend of the system and QA does the testing via GUI. Gray Box testing includes Black Box and requires QA to know and test backend services and do SQL queries. White Box is more advanced and includes other 2 types